Red Velvet Cupcakes 1

Since the red velvet cupcakes are the craze at the moment, I would love to kickstart my baking ramblings with a recipe adapted from Chuck Hughes Day Off. Everywhere you read about its red velvet! This cake has actually been around for awhile and just made more popular around last year into 2011. I have come across afew red velvet recipes but I simply love this one, as the recipe does not use butter, but yoghurt and oil. The result is a light texture and not too sweet. Furthermore as one can see, the colour is not so red, because I like the colour to be a little on the deep dark red almost burgundy shade. I am not a fan of throwing so much red colouring in it, and then you have that weird taste of colouring mixed with chocolate. Nonetheless there is another recipe that I would like to share later on, plus you only live once so what the heck, eat and be merry (but also in moderation)! The frosting on top is mascarpone cheese, if you like you may change it to a butter cream cheese frosting or just plain old simple vanilla buttercream, to have those fancy peaks on top. Trust me this cake is a winner, and definitely a favourite with my friends.

Red Velvet Cupcakes 1

Ingredients:
2 eggs
11/2 cups sugar (300g)
11/2 cups canola oil (375ml)
1 cup plain yoghurt (250ml)
2 tbsp red coloring (Wilton’s Christmas Red, I used Burgundy and Christmas red mix 30ml)
1 tsp vinegar (5ml)
1 tsp vanilla extract (5ml)
21/2 cups flour (500g)(I used plain flour)
1 tbsp cocoa (15g)
1 tsp baking soda (5ml)
1 tsp salt (5g)

For icing:
2 cups mascarpone cheese (use 500g)
1 cup icing sugar, sifted (use 250g)
1/2 cup whipping cream (at least 35% fat I use Emborg or Arla)
Zest of a lemon

Method for cupcakes:

1. Preheat oven to 350F ( 180C every oven is different so gauge)
2.In a food processor, standing mixer or using hand held mixer, beat the eggs with the sugar until pale, add the oil, yoghurt, food colouring, vinegar and vanilla extract. Mix well.
3.Add flour, baking soda and salt, fold in well.
4.Place cupcake papers into a 12 hole muffin pan, fill up each one only 1/2 way through so batter doesn’t overflow, and bake, rotating halfway for 25-30mins. (I baked mine about 20mins.) Once batter is used up remove and cool.

Icing:

1.In a bowl, beat the mascarpone cheese, icing sugar cream and lemon zest together until mixture is smooth.
2.Spoon a dollop of mascarpone cream on the cupcakes. Sprinkle with red coloured sugar if u wish.

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Bake. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Velvet Cupcakes 1

  1. Hubby says:

    Congrats with your first post! Love you!

Leave a Reply

