Almost Pear Perfection

Almost Pear Perfection

My Pear Perfection obsession drove me almost to a point of insanity, trying to get some of the concoctions right. I had been following the Junior Masterchef Australia series and I thought I should challenge myself to recreate chef Adriano Zumbo’s fabulous dessert.

Admiring the talents of Isabella and Jack I figured why don’t I try it out. Well, first I had to read and re-read the recipe to make sure I fully understood the instructions, plus the ingredients used. Where the hell do I get gellan anyway, so some stuff I had to substitute. When you watch the final series both of them had their sable a choux, marzipan and green chocolate ready, in the recipe these three recipes were not in the masterchef website. So I dug out The Professional Pastry Chef book that I have by Bo Friberg, to do my reference for sable a choux. Luckily it was there and Pierre Herme’s recipe book had it too, so whewww!!!

After toiling in the kitchen I reckon I needed more than two and half hours (not like the two junior masterchefs) to get it done since I had some additional work to do. I must say I didn’t do too badly, I think. For one, I love pears and I loved the result of the pear mousse and pear creme patissiere, which I used canned pears blitz it in the food processor to pulp. The green chocolate was done by melting white chocolate and coloring it green, the almond crunch, I had to make that almond praline myself too so I faired quite well on the whole. I did the choux pastry last. I thought after that I could assemble the dessert, but somehow the choux pastry turned out too green (even with a wee bit of colouring). Darn it! So told myself had to rest and re-do the next day. I swear I had Pear Perfection nightmare, hehehehe!!  I dreamt I had to assemble and it collapsed and all the horrors of making it in my dream.

I woke up fresh and awake, did my choux pastry again nicely and was satisfied. One good thing was every other mixture was ready, so all I needed to do was assemble it. I thought next time I will do the preparations within afew days hahahaha! Like I told a friend of mine if she wants to try to make this she would have to read and re-read until you get mata kero and pening (crossed eyed and headache in Malay)! Huge sigh of relief after piping the mousse and pear gel in, the ultimate now would be slicing it in half and having the gel all flooding out or intact! It stayed intact!!! Woweeee! Sooooo happy all smiles of triumphant, hehehehe!!

So I decided to call mine Almost Pear Perfection Obsession that aptly describes my quest for this dessert but it was worth all the trouble, I learn something new and tedious to make, the taste was absolute heaven. So I am on to my next quest, Vanilla Yoghurt Pannacotta with Raspberry jelly and pistachio tuille, that will be my next post!

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Bake, Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Almost Pear Perfection

  1. aaqeela says:

    can you please please please oh please tell me the recipe of sable a choux?

    • Hi aaqueela ,
      I will be glad to send you that recipe of the sable a choux via your email. Sorry for the late reply, I must admit blogging is alot of work. Recipe coming your way! Cheers!
      Nisa

Leave a Reply

