Vanilla Yoghurt Pannacotta with Raspberry jelly and pistachio tuille


After my Pear Perfection obsession, I decided to take up another challenge again from the series. Watching chef Poh Ling Yew prepare the pannacotta seemed a task less daunting than the pear nightmare I had. So off to the kitchen I went and over the long May day weekend I tried to recreate another recipe from the Masterchef website. This turned out really well and I was smiles from ear to ear ( so proud of myself ahahahah!!). The texture was fabulicious, and I loved the balance of tart and sweetness of raspberries (I added more sugar of course) with the yoghurt. Full fat yoghurt only readers, coz its thick and creamy unlike those low fat stuff, (sorry lah I hate the low fat ones) I used Greek yoghurt in mine, furthermore D.I.E.T is not in my vocabulary of words, muahahhah!!>> evil laughter! Plus yoghurt makes a good cleanser for the face and a mask, but I shall not dwell into that at the moment and ramble about beauty regimes.

making the raspberry jelly

The making of the pannacotta half was a cinch and this was a lot more less stressful than my pear horrific task, whhheeww! Now,the pistachio tuille, is really fragile! I did not have acetate available so I used aluminium foil and folded to double and created a circle cut-out so that I could swoosh that tuille mixture over it. Works for me, one has to be creative and substitute for another. The result was nice thin and crispy-licious after baking, but your timing must be good, overbaking means brown-crispy-into-the tummy-gulp-burps! When it is overbaked you will not be able to bend it on the rolling pin to create that tuille-curl. The moment of truth for these “pann-rasp”babies were, when it has chilled enough and releasing it onto the plate.

panncotta ready to be refrigerated

Voilaaaa!!! Just drop it into hot water for abit and gently release from the sides with a paring knife. Woohoo!!! Gorgeous colours, good texture, taste lovely all my boxes were ticked, definitely a good recipe to make for friends and family as it can be prepared ahead. The recipe I have typed below and certain minor adjustments I have made according to moi’s taste.  Definitely a feat not unlike the previous pear purrrrfection recipe I did, that you can retrieve from the website itself, and share the same headache I had. Too long that me, myself and I get confused( conpuse bibik nanti)! Then again I challenged myself to get confused and be confused, read until cross-eyed, I still produced a pretty darn good dessert I must say!

Vanilla Yoghurt Pannacotta with Raspberry jelly and Pistachio tuille – adapted fm chef Poh Ling Yew Masterchef series

 For raspberry jelly:

  • 150g fresh raspberries
  • 100ml water
  • 30g caster sugar ( I used 45g)
  • 6g gold strength gelatin leaves, 3 leaves ( I used halal powdered gelatin)

Method for raspberry jelly:

Combine raspberries, water and sugar in a medium bowl and place over saucepan of simmering water for about 3-4 minutes or until infused.

Meanwhile bloom 6g powdered gelatin in 30g water. Rule of thumb gelatin absorbs 5 times amount of its weight, even for leaves.

Add to the raspberry mixture stir gently to dissolve gelatin.

Spoon 4 or 5 raspberries from jelly mixture into base of 6 plastic dariole moulds. Then spoon 2 tsp ( I used 3) of the jelly mixture over raspberries in moulds.

Place in blast chiller or until set.

For the pannacotta:

  • 375ml pouring cream ( I used Bulla thickened cream)
  • 55g pure icing sugar sifted
  • 6g gold leaf gelatin, 3 leaves (I used halal powdered gelatin)
  • 180g full fat yoghurt (I used Greek yoghurt with 13.5% fat)
  • 1 tsp vanilla paste ( I used 2 vanilla pods)

Method for pannacotta:

Place cream and icing sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat and stir gently for 3-4 minutes or until heated through. Remove from heat. Bloom gelatin in 30g water, then stir into the warm cream.

Gently whisk yoghurt and vanilla paste into the cream mixture. Pour evenly among the prepared moulds. Blast chill for 5 minutes then refrigerate for 20 minutes or until set.

For the pistachio tuille:

  • 65g plain flour
  • 65g icing sugar sifted
  • 65g softened butter ( I used unsalted)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 50g chopped pistachio
  • fresh raspberries to garnish

Method for pistachio tuille:

Sift flour and icing sugar into a bowl set aside. Place butter and egg whites in a bowl, using a  stick blender, or mixer blend until smooth, add flour and icing sugar. Mix well until there are no lumps. Chill for 5 minutes.

Using a spatula swipe the tuille mix (using the stencil or make your own like I did) onto the greaseproof paper.

Sprinkle with chopped pistachios and bake at 160C for 5-6 minutes, until golden at the edges.

Remove from oven, using a spatula immediately place the tuille on a rolling pin and let cool to shape.

To assemble:

Place chilled pannacottas into warm water for afew seconds. Gently slide a paring knife down the inside edge of the mould, then invert them onto serving plates and squeeze slightly to release. Serve with fresh raspberries and tuilles to the side.

Foodnote: Gelatin absorbs 5 times amount of water from its weight. So in this case 6g=30g water.

Every oven is different with its intensity of heat, so use your own judgement when it comes to baking. I used vanilla beans scraped off from 2 pods and immersed them when simmering the cream.

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vanilla Yoghurt Pannacotta with Raspberry jelly and pistachio tuille

  1. hisna says:

    perfecto!!! 🙂

  2. Yat Maria says:

    Hi Nisa

    that’s a wonderful tuille!! ingin jugak nak buat… but first, I must get those rasberries I saw @ Sun&Moon & make that pannacotta…tak boleh tahan la tengok 🙂

Leave a Reply

