Sticky Toffee Pudding

  • This will be my quick note before I go to bed. I have been wanting to put this in when I revamped my blog again, before I write about my interesting and enlightening encounter with Rachel Allen. I made this before ever going to watch her do a demonstration where I had the privilege of helping out. It was also a coincidence that this month was our wedding anniversary and to me that was a special gift! More about my encounter when I do the next recipe which will be Maple Toffee Pecan Tart from her new book. Sticky Toffee Pudding on the other hand is an old classic. I love this particular recipe of hers because its not too sweet and its so lovely if served with clotted cream, whipped cream or even ice cream and have that toffee sauce drizzled down, absolutely luscious and sinful!

Recipe for Sticky Toffee Pudding adapted from Bake, by Rachel Allen

Ingredients – serve 6

  • 225g(8oz) dates-stoned and chopped
  • 250ml (9fl oz) black tea ( do not steep it too long)
  • 100g (31/2 oz) unsalted butter softened at room temperature
  • 175g(6oz) golden caster sugar (can also use light brown muscvado sugar)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 225g (8oz) self raising flour (sifted)
  • ¾ tsp bicarbonate soda
  • Vanilla ice-cream, whipped cream or clotted cream to serve
  • For the toffee sauce:
  • 110g (4oz) butter
  • 250g (9oz) soft light brown sugar
  • 275g (10oz)golden syrup
  • 225ml (8fl oz) double cream ( I used thickened cream)
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
  • You will need an 8inch or 20x20cm springform tin or 20x20cm(8inch) square tin.

Method for the pudding:

Preheat the oven at 180C ( 350F), Gas marked 4. Butter and flour the sides of the tin and line the base with greaseproof paper.Place the chopped dates and tea in a saucepan and bring to boil. Cook the dates a few minutes to soften it.Remove from heat and set aside.

Beat the butter in a large bowl or a standing mixer until soft. Add the sugar and beat until the mixture is pale and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at the time then add the spice and vanilla extract.

Fold in the date mixture, add in the sifted flour and bicarbonate powder and fold gently until well mixed.Pour mixture into prepared tin and bake for about 45 minutes or until the top is just firm to touch or a skewer inserted comes out clean.

Allow to stand in the tin for about 5 minutes (I left it for 30 minutes ) before removing it from the tin and transferring to a serving plate.

Method for toffee sauce:

Place all ingredients in a saucepan set over high heat and boil for approximately 4-5 minutes, stirring regularly until it has thickened. Serve warm.

Foodnote: Cut the date pudding into squares and serve them with vanilla ice-cream, whipped cream or clotted cream and drizzle the toffee sauce. Absolute heaven!

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Bake, Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

