Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

I finally found my comfort dessert (or any dessert have a sweet tooth!) and I think that is cheesecake. I love the combination of cream cheese and a mix of fruits, chocolate, caramel or whatever that can be added into the mixture. My 1st cheesecake was White Chocolate Espresso which was a nice combination the result was OK but not to my liking. I did more and more after that and got better and better. My inspiration?  Cheesecake Company in The Hague. Owner Rebecca Joyner has this cute little cafe with only a few tables, very cosy and an open concept kitchen where you can see her churn up those lovely cheesies fresh! We were there one spring and popped by to have some! I am honoured to be part of her website of where her cheesecakes have travelled to! Its very popular with the Dutch as well as tourists who come by and bring back to their homeland! Perfect place to sit with a book, a hot cuppa and a cheesecake of your choice! I love her Snickers Bar chocolate which made me try to concoct my own later on. Practice makes perfect right? I would like to share this recipe with you and that is this rich, Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake. The original recipe includes coffee liqueur and 1/4 cup coffee, but I had changed all that to use only 3 tablespoon espresso coffee, and a teaspoon coffee emulco. The taste is up to you…..some people who want an extra caffeine punch add more coffee, otherwise  it tastes just like a very dark bittersweet chocolate decadent dessert. When cold, its smooth and creamy just like ice cream! Definitely for the die hard chocolate lovers and not for the faint hearted! *wink wink*

Recipe for Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake – adapted from All Recipes Cigdem Buke Ugur

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake – Recipe

Ingredients for the base:

  • 200g Oreo cookies or any chocolate cookies of your choice
  • 70g butter softened

For the filling:

  • 750g cream cheese at room temperature (good ‘ol Philadelphia)
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp whipping cream (I use Arla or Emborg brand)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 225g dark chocolate( Valrhona, Ghiradelli or Green and Black’s chocolate at least 55 – 60% cocoa content)
  • 2 tsp instant coffee granules (espresso preferably)dissolved in 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whipping cream 2 tbsp confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tsp coffee emulco
  • Some white chocolate for grating.

Method:

1.Preheat oven at 180 degrees C

2.Combine Oreos or chocolate cookies ,softened butter in a food processor. Process until fine. Mix well and press into a buttered 81/2 or 9inch springform pan. Chill for 30mins.

3.Melt chocolate and 2 tbsp whipping cream using double boiler method(pan or bowl over a pot simmered with boiling water) stir until smooth set aside.

4.Beat cream cheese in a medium sized bowl or use a Kitchen Aid or food processor until smooth and no lumps.

5.Gradually add 1 cup caster sugar mixing til well blended and then add the eggs one at a time, at low speed with a mixer with a food processor when its blended in.

6.Add chocolate mixture to cream cheese mixture and blend well. Stir in the sour cream, pinch salt, 3 tbsp espresso coffee, 1 tsp coffee emulco and vanilla essence.

7.Mix well and pour mixture into prepared pan. Bake in the centre of the oven on bain-marie at 160 degrees C for about 45 mins to 1 hr, depending on the heat intensity of your oven.

8.When done centre will be abit soft when tapped on cake tin. Do not overbake. Leave cake in oven for 30 mins with door ajar before taking it out. Remove and cool about 2 – 3 hrs before chilling in refrigerator overnight.

FoodNote – before serving sprinkle cake with cocoa powdersifted over and some shavings of white chocolate. Slice with  a knife dipped in hot water, do not wipe, repeat same to cut next slice. This is because you will get a nice clean, smooth cut. Decorations are entirely up to each individual!! Just in case someone is travelling to The Netherlands, and wish to pop by for a good cheesecake the address is below:

Cheesecake Company is at Torenstraat 32 ,
2153 BS, Den Haag.

 


About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

  1. Great web site and beautiful pictures. Thanks for the mention! Keep up the good work.

    Peace, Love & Cheesekake,
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

