White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Hi peeps! I am still on the topic of cheesecake again! Hope you readers will not be bored by my cheesy ramblings! This is one of my favourites! I did this on my 3rd trial of cheesecake mania 2 years back! I never actually wanted to write a blog on food about my cooks and bakes, but encouraged by friends who love my cooking and baking, (ahem! blush..) I thought I would just do it. Initially I had posted my food pics on Facebook, the current trendy networking site of all 21st century for now, then I asked dear hubby to help me out. He helped design my website which will now contain the price list for my desserts, working on that, and this blog, I’m so gonna work on it right now. This is my bestie’s Suzanah’s fave. She loves anything fruity or with white chocolate that is her death by chocolate sweetener. She and her kids (my god-children haha!) will ever so willingly try my bakes and comment on it. Now, children should be the tasters of all kinds of food because they don’t know how to lie, if its good, its good, if its not, then so be it. They will tell you as it is and that will be the honest truth. They should rightfully be food critics perhaps that is why they come up with the Junior Masterchef series.  Adults on the other hand can lie between their teeth, heheheh, some very sly too! Then the main thing every food sweet or savoury should always be made with love and wholeheartedly. A chef told me the same thing, some of them began like me, with that passion for food and some have become chefs.  Anyway this is from All Recipes website by a Cindy Ann, thanks Cindy its a lovely luscious cake and the scent of raspberries, I just love it!

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Ingredients:
For the base
1 cup chocolate cookie crumbs ( I used 1 and half  cups)
3 tbsp sugar (golden caster or light brown is fine too)
1/4 cup butter melted ( I used 1/3)

For the cheesecake:
3 (8oz) packs of cream cheese
3 eggs
1/2 cup white caster sugar
1/2 cup half and half (if u cannot get it u may use half pouring cream half milk)
1 tsp vanilla extract

To make raspberry sauce:
1 pack(10oz) raspberries frozen or fresh is fine
2 tbsp caster sugar
2 tsp cornstarch

Method:
1. In a medium sized bowl, mix together cookie crumbs, 3 tbsp sugar and melted butter. Press mixture into the bottom of a 9 inch springform pan. Chill until ready to use.
2. In a saucepan, combine raspberries, 2 tbsp sugar, cornstarch and water. Bring to boil and continue boiling for 5 minutes, or until sauce is thick. Strain sauce through a mesh strainer to remove seeds.
3. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (160-165 degrees C). In a metal bowl over a pan or pot of simmering water, melt white chocolate chips with half and half stirring occasionally until smooth.
4. In a large bowl, using a standing mixer, hand held or food processor, mix together cream cheese and 1/2 cup sugar until smooth and well blended. Beat the eggs one at a time. Add the vanilla extract and melted white chocolate.
5. Pour half of batter over the crust. Pour  half of batter over the crust. Spoon 3-4 tbsp raspberry sauce over the top. Pour remaining batter into pan and ad another 3-4 tbsp raspberry sauce over the top.  Swirl batter with tip of knife or skewer to create a marbled effect.
6. Bake for 55-60 minutes (bain-marie method) or until filling is set. Leave to cool in oven with door slightly ajar for 30 mins. Take it out and cool further for 11/2 – 2hrs before refrigerating for at least 6hrs or overnight before serving. Serve with remaining raspberry sauce and you may decorate cheesecake with shaved white chocolate and raspberries.

FoodNote: before baking, cover the sides of springform pan with aluminium foil making sure its well sealed to prevent water or extra moisture from seeping into the pan while baking.
Another alternative to raspberry sauce you may also use raspberry puree that is sold in baking supply shops and add sugar to sweeten it and add gelatine to the sauce or puree to make a glaze mirror topping. To do this you need to use a metal ring around the cake. and then chill.

Enjoy peeps! Happy trying!

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Bake, Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

