Dutch Apple Pie

this looks absolutely gorgeous, happy with this Dutch Apple Pie, thanks Ellie from Almost Bourdain. Have tried afew types this recipe works well.

I love apple pies, its an old classic dessert that never goes out of fashion. There are apple pies, apple crumbles, apple tarts, apple turnovers, apple bread pudding, I can go on. Apples as a fruit itself are high in fiber with insoluble cellulose and lignin in the peel and soluble pectins in the flesh and rich in vitamin C and its mineral contribution is potassium.  Okay that was my nutritional brain talking as an intro, now the other food brain speaks, heheheheh!!! Apple pies are served in many ways, with whipped cream, ice-cream, caramel sauce, baked, stewed, grilled etc. I am always looking for a good apple pie in town, most of the time they fail to please me. Either the apples are cooked through that they become mushy, or too tart, or too much cinammon, or pie pastry suck big time.

Travelling alot gives me the opportunity to try various types of food or desserts wherever I may be, I am always looking for that little nook or corner that may serve the best pies, desserts or food whatsoever! I realise that portions here are usually small, can’t they be a wee bit larger than a mere tiny or small morsel to match this huge appetite of mine? Hehehehe! Yes I am abit of a glut when it comes to food.  Having Dutch inlaws gives me a chance to return to the Netherlands much often to eat and bring back the goodies from there, specially from the village bakery! First up, I love the apple pies  or rather any of the desserts there, they are thick and always served with cream. I will put on kilos if I live there! I also noticed they use the springform pans for their pies hence the size and height. When I first met my mother in law Hetty, I had noticed she baked something like a pie in the springform pan that I usually would use for cheesecakes. I asked my husband Bart if that was what she uses for pies as well and he said yes. I never actually tried baking pies in that pan until recently, most of the time its in a pie tin or tart tin etc, but in a springform pan definitely is satisfying! What I love when I am back there too, are”stroopwafels” which are like little caramelized waffles that you can find made fresh from a little stand or at their supermarkets sold in a pack.

In the village I love “kniepertjes” which are something like love letters here abundant during festive season, but they are more like waffles flat and crispy and the smell, oh that smell when its baking in the village bakery, scent-sational! Back in Groningen there is a shop called Granny’s Appeltaart, that sells just apple pies and other confections in the shop, it does a roaring business and always busy. Another dessert is called Vlaai, originating from Limburgh in the South, its like a fruit tart but its something else! I will touch on that in my future tales of the food world. Now back to pies, I like baking any of those pies and serving them up with freshly whipped cream and a drizzling of caramel or a dollop of vanilla ice-cream. When I bake these babies, I do not cook the apples or stew them beforehand because I like them to have abit of a crunch, after all when you put them under the dough and bake, it softens up anyway. All I do is slice ’em thin and nice, toss with some brown sugar and some raisins or cranberries, some tapioca or corn starch and you are done. I love the scent of apple pies in the oven specially that cinnamon smell it wafts up from the kitchen and you get a whiff of it from upstairs heavenlicious! You can literally float down and follow that smell. Yummo!

Recipe for Dutch Apple Pie – adapted from Ellie of Almost Bourdain

Ingredients :
300g self raising flour
200g chilled butter and cubed
160g caster sugar (I used golden caster sugar)
pinch of salt
1 egg beaten
1 kg apples (I used Granny Smith or Golden Delicious peeled and sliced in my case I left skins on)
50g caster sugar ( I used light muscvado sugar 80g)
2 tbsp cinnamon
75g raisins, soaked in warm water (I used 100g cranberries)
2 Tbsp custard powder
2 tbsp breadcrumbs or almond meal

Method:
1. In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients, flour, sugar, and a pinch of salt. Dice the butter and mix into the flour. Using hands to rub in the flour, or you can use food processor or a standing mixer with a dough hook so that mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
2. Add 2/3 of the egg yolk and knead everything together so that it forms into a firm ball.
3. Grease a 24cm round springform pan with butter and press 2/3 of the dough into the bottom or sides. Alternately, you can roll between 2 cling wraps, release one side and place the unwrapped dough face down and release the other facing you. Tidy the edges.
4. Refrigerate the pan and remaining dough until ready to use. Preheat oven to 180C. Drain raisins and pat dry with a paper towel.
5. Sprinkle custard powder over the base of the pastry base. (the custard powder will soak up the moisture released from apples while baking to avoid a soggy pie bottom. I sprinkle some almond meal over as well it has same purpose as custard powder.)
6. Combine apples, cinnamon and sugar, spread over the pastry base.
7. Roll out the balance of the pastry dough and cut to thin 1cm or 1/2 inch strips.
8. Arrange in a criss cross pattern on top of the apple mixture or you can use a lattice cutter too. Press the edges together. Brush with remaining egg yolk (I add abit of milk to it)
8. Bake apple pie for about 1 hour 10 minutes in the oven until golden brown.
9. Remove from oven and cool before serving with vanilla ice cream and caramel drizzle or freshly whipped cream.

FoodNote: Every different oven varies in  temperature. Please gauge your time accordingly. This is a lovely recipe, thanks Ellie!

 

 

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Bake, Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

