Steamed Pandan Brownies ala Ny Liem

the aroma of pandan, sweetness of white chocolate and saltiness of cheese

I am in a steamy mood. Steamed as in trying my hand at steaming cakes and desserts now. I have been baking too much and left the steaming to my mother before I went into my frenzy. She was and still is the expert, heheheh!! Me, I rather try slip-shot or bake. I just feel steaming is too much work, fill the lower half of steamer with water and then let it boil, etc..etc. Anyway traditional Asian style desserts involves alot of steaming, but hence the delicate flavours enhanced by the scent of banana leaf that wraps around it, coconut leaves leaves used to wrap glutinous rice, or the aroma of pandan leaves (screwpine leaf). I try though, to be as patient as can be when making steamed desserts seriously its alotta work! There is an old saying that when you cook or bake you smile, else that food will not turn out fine. I guess that is true got to breathe in and out. There is just something about the scent of pandan….don’t you just love the scent as it wafts through the air? Pandan has afew uses too, apparently it repels cockcroaches, something to do with the chemical composition in the leaves. Hmmmm…am not so sure if its true, but all I know I hate the flying ones! I can run, or jump sky high if I see one that flies and lands nearby, oh hell hath no fury like a woman scorned by a flying roach. Then again, pandan or screwpine to some, also makes lovely air freshner. Another little thing I would like to share, you can cut it to little shreds and toss with some aromatic flowers and sprinkle some rose water, its lovely.

I recently bought a steamer and I do mean a large 38 inches in diameter, just in case I wanted to do more and fit a large tin or pan inside or steam fish. Or for days when I feel like doing just steamy, steamy desserts. When my hubby saw that steamer on top of my stove one morning, he just laughed so loud, coz he said he has never seen one as large as this! He said he could fit me in it, I said be careful I may just steam him in it, ahahahahaha! I dedicate this dessert to a girlfriend of mine, NurFaezah and her husband, because this is her husband’s favourite “greenie”dessert. Somehow he and pandan go together heheheh!! What I like about the taste is that its sweet and salty. You have cream cheese and white chocolate in the brownie itself, (I should call it greenie actually) then buttercream icing sprinkled with grated cheddar cheese, and that flavour and smell of pandan, it actually taste good! One have to smell that gorgeous scent before taking a bite and the texture is lovely and moist, aroma of vanilla buttercream blends well with pandan, what’s not to like? Terimakasih ya Ny Liem, resep ini enak banget! (thank you Ny Liem for the delish recipe!)

Recipe for Pandan Steamed Brownies ala Ny Liem (I made a few adjustments)

Ingredients A:
7 egg yolks
6 egg whites
145g caster sugar
10g emulsifier (ovalette, or SP)
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Ingredients B to sift:
170g plain flour
40g powdered milk
1/2 tsp baking powder

Ingredients C to melt:
160g butter
100g white chocolate
95g cream cheese (use Philadelphia)
1 tsp pandan paste ( it may seem like very green but when mix with batter its a pale green)

Ingredients D for buttercream:
250g butter
2 cups icing sugar (go according to taste)
1/4 cup milk ( to add according to how u like texture)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:
1. Beat ingredients A in a standing mixer or using hand held mixer, beat until light, thick and fluffy. (use a balloon whisk)
2. Add ingredients B bit by bit, until well blended. Add ingredients C and fold in with a spatula until well mixed.
3. Line 2 tins 30cm x 10cm or 8 x 8inch with parchment or greaseproof paper and pour mixture in.
4. Steam for 25 mins or slightly longer abt 30-40 mins when placed in and 8 x 8inch. Test with skewer. Ensure to line the lid with a tea towel, what I do is wrap the lid and fasten with a rubber band, this is to prevent water vapour from dripping onto your steamed dessert.
5. When done, remove and cool. Coat it with buttercream frosting and sprinkle grated cheddar cheese before serving or drizzle thin lines of melted chocolate if you like. Serve.

Method for vanilla buttercream frosting:
1. Beat butter that is already at room temperature until pale, add icing sugar bit by bit and milk until it reaches a consistency you like. Add vanilla extract. Buttercream is ready to use.

Happy trying peeps and have a lovely day!

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steamed Pandan Brownies ala Ny Liem

  1. mellania says:

    Do i have to melt the cream cheese with butter and cream cheese over double boiler ? or i just add cream cheese to melted butter and chocolate ? Thankyou

  2. Hi Mellania,
    Thanks for dropping by! I have been away from my blog as my laptop is being repaired thus having to use hubby’s. As for your question, the butter, white chocolate and cream cheese goes into the double boiler use a little whisk to blend them in nicely. After that add pandan paste to it. Don’t be afraid of it being too green, I know it looks scary at first but when mixed with the rest of the batter it turns a pale green. Hope that helps. B-)
    Best rgds,
    Nisa

Leave a Reply

