Chocolate Fudge Cake

Well peeps, it’s another public holiday again tomorrow! There certainly is plenty of holidays this month of May. Woohoo! Love that cake? Yes, really wicked isn’t it? There is always something about chocolate that makes me smile. I love chocolates, and I made this when I was in one of those wicked moods. Theobroma which means “food of the gods” cocoa is one of the most valuable and desired substances in the world. That is why there are chocolate boutiques or confectioneries, springing up everywhere around the world because there is always that desire for chocolates. Call it an aphrodisiac or whatever it may be, but chocolates, given for any occasion can just make someone’s day! I know if I am given or surprised with chocolates, I would be death by chocolate happy. They are just pretty gift wrapped with a ribbon or a sweet paper bag all dressed up, I would grin from ear to ear. For those on a diet, smelling it could also be “deathly”, but not me no DIE-with a T and I certainly would enjoy it. I am no doctor but it is touted that dark chocolate has antioxidants and is considered the healthier chocolate, about 55%-70% cocoa content. Hey let’s face it we only live once, if you don’t eat it now then when? My motto is eat what you want but of course everything you eat, do it in moderation that is only logic and not cram it up, then that is really asking for trouble! I used to be chocolate mad that all my trips abroad I’d have a spare little bag just for chocolates, but not all for me, some for friends and family. Now not anymore, age is catching up, ahemmmm! Hahahaha!!! My travelling days now are spent finding that cute little cafe, a special dessert, ingredients, browsing in supermarkets, (I love!) gourmet shops, sigghhhhhhh….then packing them into my suitcase would be a real challenge each time!

My last trip to Paris and popping by G Detout at Rue Tiquetonne was like ingredient nirvana. That shop stocks plenty of ingredients which you cannot find at some places. I got my violet, bergamot, jasmine and lavender flavoured essences for some stuff I am planning to make in the future. I lugged back Valrhona chocolate blocks and Cacao Barry which cost astrocious prices here. Ooooooohhhh…I could linger longer, getting me out was a BIG problem for hubby, heheheh! Those fanatic bakers and cooks like me can go absolutely beserk here. Hubby always love to look at how I am going to pack my stuff, I usually manage well. Though it feels like I am lugging back a refrigerator(sulk), but all for a good cause, if I may say, heheheh!! This gorgeous cake is adapted from Maida Heatter’s Book of Great Desserts. I love Maida Heatter because of how she started off with all her desserts and that her recipes and instructions are so precise and detailed but in any recipe one must read from A to Z to get clear picture, that is important. I decorated it with chocolate ganache and fresh strawberries, and chopped some white chocolate in the centre. This is one yummy scrummy heavenly cake!

Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe – adapted from Maida Heatter’s Book of Great Desserts

Ingredients:

  • 125g dark chocolate (preferably 55-64% cocoa mass)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa sifted
  • 210g light brown caster sugar
  • 70g light brown caster sugar extra for adding to melted chocolate
  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 240g cake flour (I used Top Flour or you can use all purpose)
  • 1/2 cup hot water
  • 2/3 cups milk
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 egg

METHOD:
Preheat oven to 175Celsius, and line two 9inch cake tins with baking paper and grease the sides.

Place chocolate and 1/2 cup hot water in top of a double boiler and stir with a rubber spatula occasionally until chocolate melts. Add in the 70g caster sugar and 1 tbsp cocoa powder and  stir further until mixture is smooth.
Remove from heat and set aside.

Sift together, flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt, set aside.

In a large mixing bowl at medium speed beat with an electric mixer or standing mixer, the butter until it soften slightly. Then the 210g sugar and vanilla extract beat for about 2minutes. Scrape the sides of bowl occasionally to keep mixture smooth.
Beat until pale and creamy. 

Add the eggs one at the time beating thoroughly incorporated after each addition.

Lower the speed of mixer and add sifted ingredients in 3 additions beginning with dry ingredients and milk alternately, ending with the dry ingredients. Beat until smooth (remember to scrape sides) finally add the melted chocolate (its ok if its still warm) beat until well mixed.
Pour into the lined tins, equally, tilt gently to level batter. ( I got approx 535g batter per tin)

Bake for 30-40mins depending on oven until top springs back when lightly touched or insert a skewer to test doneness.
Cool cake pans for about 5mins on wire rack and invert again to cool right sides up.
Place the bottom layer upside down on a platter or a board to prepare for the fudge filling. (I made chocolate ganache)

CHOCOLATE FUDGE FILLING 

I have 2 versions of fudge or ganache filling that u can try with my chef’s recipe :

Chocolate Fudge:

  • 590g chocolate 55%-64% cocoa mass
  • 260g milk
  • 130g glucose (from Phoon Huat or any bake supply shop)

Method:

Boil the milk and the glucose together  until well incorporated, before putting the chocolate in, and stir until dissolved.

Sandwich the cakes with the choc fudge.

Version 2: Chocolate Ganache using sour cream (it taste good believe me coz these are recipes I did in bake school)

Sour Cream Ganache Recipe

  • 370g chocolate pref 55%-64% cocoa mass ( I use Valrhona chocolate Caraibe or Manjari 61-64% u can also use Cacao Barry or Callebaut)
  • 400g Sour cream

Melt chocolate in double boiler.

Add sour cream. Cool Slightly before use.

FoodNote: You may sandwich cakes with slices of bananas if you wish instead of berries. 


About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Bake, Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

