Strawberry Jazzy Crumble Brokus

A mistake that actually turned out fine that is what this steamed brokus is about. Brokus is shortened term for brownie kukus in Indonesian meaning steamed brownies. The steamed version has a different texture than the bake ones. Kinda more spongy, springy and soft. I read the recipe through before making and understood it, not that my Bahasa Indonesian isn’t good, my family originates from there and late dad used to speak the language each day at home. So it was my own hustle and bustle in the kitchen that made me create this error. It doesn’t look that bad though. I was suppose to use a piping bag and pipe zigzag on top and then put it back in the steamer, but I made it into a crumble instead….dddduuuuhhh! One of my blonde moments. When it was ready I was wondering why it never became zigzag again, eeerrrmmm…dddduuuhhhh! Must have been too much baking that week so the brain was shutting down I guess, heheheheh! Anyway I used 11 egg whites instead of 10 as per recipe because I had 11 egg whites left after making sponge cakes and I thought I wanna make macarons out of it but no good vibe feeling so me- no make- macarons.

It actually became a favourite of some, first of all it’s not too sweet. Good for elderly folks ‘cos they do not fancy cloyingly sweet desserts. Some friends favour it too. The recipe is adapted from Ny Liem’s book Variasi Brownies Kukus. There are plenty of gorgeous steamed brownies  recipes in there to try. This was the other I had done besides the pandan steamed brownies that was posted earlier!

Strawberry Jazzy Brownies Recipe
Part A
375 ml egg whites (about 11 egg whites)
125g caster sugar
10g cake emulsifier (ovalette, or sp)

Part B – dry ingredients sift and place all in a bowl
150g all purpose flour
25g powdered milk
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp vanilla essence

Part C – melt
100g white chocolate (place in a double boiler or a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water)
75g margarine ( I used butter)

Part D (streusel)
15g margarine ( again I used butter)
15g coarse sugar ( I used turbinado sugar or golden caster sugar)
30g all purpose flour

Part E
100g strawberry jam ( I used strawberry Pregel)
3 drops of red colouring (optional I didn’t use as the strawberry filling was red enough)

Method:
1. Mix A in a standing mixer or using a hand held mixer , whisk eggs, to half foamy add sugar bit by bit while whisking and then add the emulsifier. Whisk until firm peaks.
2. Add B  bit by bit until well mixed. finally add C. Fold in until well incorporated.
3.Pour into 2 ins measuring 30x10x4cm which has been greased lightly and placed with greaseproof paper. ( I used 7x10inch tin)
4.Mix ingredients D until they resemble breadcrumbs using the rubbing in method, sprinkle on top of brownie (brokus)
5.Pipe ingredient E onto the brownie criss cross or whatever design suits u.
6. Steam for 25 minutes or until done. Remove and cool.

 

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment