Crepe Cake Anyone?

There was a time when I was crepe-mad or layer cake mad. Literally wanted to try this mille crepe cake from a website I saw. So many recipes but which one? I saw the recipe on Martha Stewart’s website, plus a whole bunch of people were talking about it at one gathering I attended.  Apparently you can get it at a bakery in Malacca too. The name of that shop is Nadeje Patisserie just in case anyone is making a stop in Malacca. Every little bakes and recipes are a challenge to me, when I want to try something new, I will think about it so hard I cannot sleep! B, knows he married a stressed crazy food fanatic.  I admit that I thought that it was difficult to put together but it actual fact it was not too bad. I love crepes all the time. B, loves his crepes with powdered sugar like the Dutch would say pannakoeken met basterd suiker (caster sugar). Heel lekker! Ok so the more websites I surfed and staring at those fluffy,  light crepes layered with pastry cream, ganache or syrup or what have you, just make me gawk and drooled more. So it was abit like making the spice lapis cake just that these are pre-prepared and spread those gorgeous flavours day after. I survived making 10 lapis cakes(layer cakes) for the festive season so this should be a cinch!

Actually I should thank the people who were discussing it  for giving me the inspiration to make and they should watch me eat this rich chocolatey dessert without them having a slice at all! The mille crepe cake originates from Lady M Confections in NYC. That later brought about other confectioneries to start making it as well. It reminds me of the baumkuchen or the Tree Cake, reminding me of the layered cake or “lapis cake” as its popular here in Singapore, just that the baumkuchen is on baked on a spit that goes round and round. There are outlets in Takashimaya and a little bakery in Toa Payoh above the mrt station that sells them and yes baked with that rotating spit! Pretty smaller sized ones I found out at this website: soshiok.com check it out! I remembered when this mille crepe cake was made, our friends from The Netherlands  and Germany , C and H were in town, a lovely couple. They had this for dessert and she made a scrap book page of me with that cake. She gave it to me when we met up in February. My dear you know who you are! It was really special that she took the trouble to put up the photos nicely for me. Thank you, it was much appreciated. Hope we get to meet up again.

My version of this recipe may not be the same as Lady M’s but its Pierre Herme’s chocolate crepe version and I  just omit the chocolate from it and made plain ones. I made 3 batches of it and for me its a challenge to see how many layers I can do ! The thing is the crepes have to be made a day ahead at least and then cool and refrigerated. Another thing is that you have to line every crepe with a piece of greaseproof paper or parchment paper so that they do not stick while cooling. The fun part I like is layering them with chocolate ganache and when you look at it, you feel much pride in yourself. The beautiful part is when you slice it. The thin layers of crepe shows up so beautifully through the chocolate ganache  that it’s a sin to even eat it, I don’t even want to eat it just to admire the result of the painstaking process of making those crepes one at a time and then this! Eating process, divine! If you are a chocolate lover then it is definitely the painstaking but heavenly dessert for you.      

Recipe as follows: Crepe Cake with Chocolate Ganache

For the crepes: adapted from Pierre Herme’s Chocolate Desserts
2/3 cup (95g) all purpose flour
31/2 tbsp Dutch processed cocoa powder ( I used Valrhona or Cacao Barry but I omitted to make the plain ones)
11/2 tbsp sugar
2 large eggs at room temperature.
1 cup (250g) whole milk preferably at room temperature
3 tbsp beer (I used plain club soda water) room temperature
2 tbsp butter (30g) melted

Method:
1. In a large bowl place flour, and whisk in sugar
2. In another bowl whisk the eggs and milk together just to blend and then the melted butter.
3. Pour liquid ingredients into dry ingredients, whisk and blend well until you have a thin batter.
4. When you are ready to cook the crepes, whisk the batter gently just to blend the ingredients if you find the batter too thick add a little milk a tablespoon at a time until you have the right consistency.
5. Heat a crepe pan with a thin layer of oil, I use kitchen paper towel crumpled and spread evenly, place over medium high heat. (Crepe pan measuring 71/2 inch or 8inch)
6.Pour about 3 tbsp of batter ( I used a 1/3 size measuring cup) and swirl so that the batter spreads across evenly. It cooks in a matter of seconds you will see some bubbles and the top turning dull and the bottom should be lightly browned. Use a spatula to lift it up place it on a greaseproof paper, repeat until batter is finished, but for each layer place a greaseproof paper so that they do not stick to each other. Cool until ready to use.

Chocolate Ganache Recipe – adapted from Pierre Herme’s Chocolate Desserts
8ounces (230g) bittersweet chocolate preferably Valrhona Guanaja finely chopped
1 cup (250g) heavy cream
2 ounces or 60g unsalted butter at room temperature

Method:
1. Place chocolate in a bowl large enough to hild the other ingredients.
2. Bring the cream to a full boil in a saucepan.
3. While the cream is coming to the boil, work the butter with a rubber spatula until its soft and very creamy.
4. When cream is boiling remove from heat and pour slowly into the bowl with chopped chocolate. Start stirring in the center and work your way out in widening concentric circles.
5. Stir until all the chocolate has melted. Cool the mixture down a little, before adding the butter. starting in the centre the same way as you did for the chocolate. Depending on what you are making with the ganache, its ready for use now or you can leave it on counter to a spreadable or pipeable consistency.

To assemble crepe layers, place the crepe in a cake ring or a springform cake pan on a greaseproof paper at the bottom. Spread chocolate ganache evenly and continue with second layer until the crepes are used up. If there are alot of ganache left you may cover the whole crepe cake or u can choose to lighten or make a chocolate sauce to drizzle before serving.

FoodNote: Try and use chocolate with 55%-70% cocoa intensity to have that rich intense chocolate flavour. I used three times the amount as I was making the crepe cake abit high. So I leave that to you as to how much you want to make. Cheers peeps!

                                      

About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

