Maple Toffee Pecan Tart @Rachel Allen’s Cooking Demo

Hello my pretties, how have y’all been? I know I have been away for abit, but that is because my laptop was giving me problems and had to eventually send it for repair. Although I have my husband’s laptop and pc somehow it is not the same as using your very own. Another thing was my husband and I celebrated our birthdays in the same month of June and 2 days apart, so off to Bali our usual getaway, but that will be in another post. Anyway, I was very happy, excited, elated and ecstatic, when I was invited to watch Rachel Allen do a cooking demo at the Irish ambassador’s home, Deirdre and Joe Hayes who are a lovely couple. That was not the only thing I did, to be able to help out in the kitchen, with some other fellow Irish friends of the couple doing pre-preparations before the demo for Rachel Allen, was fab. I love the hustle and bustle in a kitchen and that is just so in my element!  All of us had our assigned duties, the weighing stations and I had to make the pastry dough for the tart. The BBC Life food team were also at hand to check that everything were prepared and done accordingly while we wait for the arrival of Rachel Allen.

Finally, she arrived and I was over the moon, she was all smiles even though she had a pretty long day and was flying off that night itself! There was no airs about her, she is all warm friendly and so approachable. I had a gift for her and did not know if she would like it I got her 3 blocks of coconut palm sugar and a linen apron from the Raffles Hotel gift shop. I thought a print from the colonial era would be nice. Of course I brought along her  cookbook with me for her autograph, what else??!! She wrote a lovely note in my book, I was all smiles because she was so delighted by the gift and  loves palm sugar!! I guess cooks and bakers tend to be abit a of psychic they usually have an insight, what one or the other  love to have as ingredients available in the kitchen that can be used in a dish or dessert. Anyway having heard so much about Ballymaloe Cooking School I told dear hubby if we can make a visit there in the near future heheheheh!!! I have never been to Ireland and hubby had been there before, so it would be nice for him to revisit again with me, now that is a great idea. 😎

I decided to make the maple toffee pecan tart as per her recipe and I will do it again because it is delicious and so moreish, plus that heavenly scent of maple syrup smell sooooo good, really heavenly. Gee, I wish she was reading this am sure she will be delighted. Anyway I dedicate this page to Rachel Allen for having such lovely recipes in her book and making instructions clear and straightforward. Besides this I have done afew more from her book. Thank you Rachel, it was a real pleasure to have met you that day. Happy  trying peeps!

Maple Toffee Pecan Tart ala Rachel Allen

Ingredients
(for the sweet pastry)
200g plain sifted flour
100g chilled butter, cubed
1 tbsp. icing sugar, sifted
½ to 1 egg, beaten
For the filling
275g shelled pecans, coarsely chopped saving 3 whole nuts for decorating (pecans must be toasted)
250 ml maple syrup
75g light soft brown sugar
150g butter
75ml double or regular cream
Method
For the sweet short crust pastry, cut the butter into little cubes making sure it is cold. (If you live in the tropics like me, I freeze it for abit)
Weigh out the flour, sugar and have the beaten egg ready. Place the flour, sugar and butter in the food processor  and blitz until it forms into breadcrumbs texture. Add the egg a little at the time until you get a nice pliable dough, it should not be too wet nor too dry. ( I did not use all I have a little bit left can be used to seal the holes when baking blind)
Chill the dough for about 30 minutes. Meanwhile make the pecan filling.
When dough is chilled enough, sprinkle abit of flour on the pastry mat or board, roll out the dough in between 2 cling wraps to fit the 23cm loose bottom tart tin. The cling wraps makes it easier to lift the dough onto the tin. (nobody’s perfect not even me!)
Set oven at 175C (every oven is different, mine works at 175C). Prick some holes with a fork on the tart shell this will cook through the pastry evenly. Place a parchment or baking paper on the tart shell filled with dry beans or baking weights weights to hold the pastry down, this prevents it from rising up. (I used any dry beans all the time they can be reused)
Take the beans and baking paper off and brush the pricked holes with eggwash that has been diluted with some water place it back in the oven for another 10 minutes or so. Once it is lightly browned take it out and set aside while you make the filling.
For the maple toffee filling:
Place the cream, butter, maple syrup and soft light brown sugar in a saucepan. Heat and stir until the sugar dissolves and bring it to the boil for about 5 minutes, it will be abit bubbly.
Put the pecans in and mix well. Pour the mixture  into the pre-baked tart shell. Bake in the oven for about 30-35 minutes, it will be all bubbly and brown.
Once done, take it out from the oven and set aside to cool before refrigeration or serve it with vanilla ice cream or freshly whipped cream.
Its chewy caramelized texture is very addictive.  Its as simple as that!
About Nisa Koolhaas

Hi there, I’m Nisa, housewife to a Dutch husband in Singapore. We live with two cats, Nappy and Lulu. Cooking and baking is a crazy passion in me, since young. I love trying different recipes from any nook and corner of the world, or various foodblogs from dedicated fellow bloggers who are food fanatics just like me. I hope you will enjoy reading my kitchen experiment ramblings, plus some recipes I have tried and tested, hopefully they work for you as they did for me. I will update as much and as best I can as I embark with you on my food journey, trials and errors. Please feel free to leave me a note, link, comment or email. I would really love to hear from you. Thank you kindly!
This entry was posted in Bake. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maple Toffee Pecan Tart @Rachel Allen’s Cooking Demo

  1. Helen Aggasild says:

    Hi Nisa

    I would love to try this – could you let me know how long to bake the pastry case with the beans in? And also when to add the butter and cream to the filling mixture?

    Thanks
    Helen
    Scotland

    • Hi Helen,
      I am so sorry for the very late reply. At the time you sent me this note we were moving into our new home and thus have not looked into my website for awhile. In case you are still making it, bake the pastry blind with beans in it around 15 mins then take the beans out let it brown abit around 10 minutes more.Then the filling place everything including the butter (which I think I forgot that typo error) in, let it all simmer for about 5 minutes.Then add the pecans in. I must apologize again. Thks!
      Nisa

  2. It’s really a great and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that you shared this useful information with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

